Automatic wallpaper changer on Unity

I’ve recently migrated from Windows to Ubuntu (a customized Ubuntu distribution actually) on my work machine. I usually deal with Unix boxes for my work so I’m quite used to it, and apart from Lync and Office (which I have on a VM) I am quite happy about it.

What I had on Windows and I missed on Unity was the ability to randomly change the wallpaper after some time. I find that it helps a lot to see great landscapes through the day 🙂
Unity lacks this feature, but I found a really great app: Variety. It not only shuffles through your wallpapers folder, but it will also download really nice wallpapers from services like Flickr, Wallbase.cc and others. It can also randomly apply some effects to the images!!

To install it on Ubuntu:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:peterlevi/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install variety


Screenshot from 2016-03-31 14:05:56

Leave a Reply

