Reusing old hardware for HTPC and a file server

Hey!

For the first blog post, I’ll share something I’ve been working on for quite some time, with mild success. I had a computer on the living room for some years, mainly to play videos/blu-rays and emulate some games! Right now it has been sitting there without much use since I had my apartment for around three years but had not moved yet (long story… will also share some stuff I’ve been doing there).

The idea was always to reuse hardware from older builds, adding as little as necessary. Currently it has:

  • Athlon X2 240
  • 4GB DDR2
  • 250GB HDD
  • An old GT520 video card
  • A common MicroATX case

I’ve recently upgraded my main rig and got a Phenom II X6 and a GTX750 that will be migrating to this HTPC. I guess it will have plenty of power for videos, Netflix and some light gaming! Been also thinking on doing something different with the case…

I also had spare hardware for a file server. It is ready and working, with two 2TB HDDs using ZFS, also not being used very much…. it runs Arch Linux and has a Sempron 140. Some of the hardware spared from the upgrade will be going to this machine also! For this I’d like to have the minimum power consumption possible, as the idea is to have it running 24/7 for torrenting and serving media.

Stay tuned for updates!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

